Food and Drink

Saturday, October 20, 2018

Restaurant Nanna Mexico promises to bring a fiesta vibe to the city to celebrate the Mexican Day of the Dead.

Read more

An alarming number of restaurants fail... here’s some sage advice from the entrepreneur behind the Cambridge vegan restaurants to ensure yours doesn’t

Read more
Thursday, October 4, 2018

They reveal plans for Vanderlyle restauant in Mill Road

Read more
Thursday, September 20, 2018

Top restaurant brand has 250,000 possible burger combinations

Read more
Thursday, September 6, 2018

New-look University Arms is venue

Read more
Wednesday, September 5, 2018

And now The Chris Evans Special is on the menu at Mill Road curry house

Read more
Monday, September 3, 2018

City wants silver award

Read more
Saturday, September 1, 2018

Vicky Rogers, of Radmore Farm Shop, has a confession: she is looking forward to the start of autumn and wide array of seasonal foods that will be available.

Read more
Friday, July 27, 2018

Harvest time can also mean picnic time on the farm and Vicky Rogers, of Radmore Farm Shop, has some delicious suggestions for the basket.

Read more
Wednesday, July 4, 2018

Vicky Rogers, of Radmore Farm Shop, is trying to change the way she thinks about food and cut down on wastage.

Read more
Thursday, June 28, 2018

Father and son to open new restaurant in the Grafton’s revamped food and dining quarter

Read more

Shopping

Thursday, September 20, 2018

Focus on sustainability and cutting single-use plastic - and music!

Read more
Friday, June 15, 2018

The Wimpole History Festival is offering readers of the Cambridge Independent 20 per cent off any further bookings made between now and the event, which takes place between June 22 and 24 at the Wimpole Estate

Read more
Wednesday, December 13, 2017

Choose from one of eight independents shortlisted by Cambridge BID - winner gets a cheque for charity.

Read more
Wednesday, December 6, 2017

Cambridge jeweller Vanessa Burkitt says stunning stone is the only other one of its kind in the country

Read more
Wednesday, December 6, 2017

Up to 30% off in shops plus free goodie bags, chocolates, Champagne, mulled wine and more

Read more

Gardening

Friday, June 22, 2018

50,000 on display at event opened by celebrity gardener Diarmuid Gavin

Read more
Monday, April 23, 2018

Dubbed ‘the Damien Hirst of horticulture’ for his boundary-pushing garden designs, TV’s Diarmuid Gavin is the face of this year’s Ely Flower Festival.

Read more
Friday, February 23, 2018

Robert Barker began his formal training in horticulture studying with the RHS (the Royal Horticultural Society) at Capel Manor College in Enfield, which then led to him being trained at the Royal Botanical Gardens, Kew.

Read more
Thursday, November 30, 2017

The Cambridge Independent’s columnist Dawn Isaac was recognised as one of the country’s leading gardening writers as she was shortlisted for the Garden Media Guild Awards 2017.

Read more

Nature

Thursday, October 18, 2018

The 25 Genomes Project has been completed - and will aid biodiversity studies and conservation projects

Read more
Thursday, September 6, 2018

Fauna & Flora International is working to help Siamese crocodiles

Read more
Sunday, August 26, 2018

County’s carbon emissions revealed as scientists at Scott Polar Research Institute issue global warning

Read more
Saturday, August 11, 2018

Site 10 miles north of Cambridge is safeguarding fens’ most endangered species

Read more
Friday, August 3, 2018

Escaping the unusual recent heatwave, we spent a few glorious days on the Norfolk coast where we were refreshed by the purer sea air and slightly lower temperatures – a welcome respite from the pollen-laden, polluted air of Cambridge’s traffic-clogged streets.

Read more

Photography

Thursday, October 18, 2018

Explore the latest camera and optical equipment at first show of its kind in the area

Read more
Saturday, August 25, 2018

Cambridge City Amnesty group has organised display of Shawkan’s work

Read more
Friday, June 22, 2018

50,000 on display at event opened by celebrity gardener Diarmuid Gavin

Read more
Sunday, April 29, 2018

Running from Monday-Saturday at The Pitt Building, the exhibition is proudly supported by the Cambridge Independent

Read more
Monday, February 12, 2018

Cambridge Forum for the Construction Industry hosts competition for young people

Read more

Travel

Thursday, October 4, 2018

Cambridge Writers Network’s travelling ladies launch new title at Heffers

Read more
Wednesday, July 18, 2018

With peak visitor season upon us, how is Visit Cambridge & Beyond working to ensure that tourism brings positive benefits to the city and surrounding area?

Read more
Saturday, June 9, 2018

South Cambridgeshire MP Heidi Allen confronts rail minister over train issues in region

Read more
Thursday, May 24, 2018

Formerly Tenison Towers, and now known as ‘The Tenison’, this charming guest house on Tenison Road has already completely overhauled one of its bedrooms. A full refurbishment is to follow later in the year

Read more

Quizzes

Thursday, January 11, 2018

Try our fiendish picture quiz

Read more

Live Traffic Map

Most read stories

Image alt text goes here

Find the perfect role for you – or advertise a vacancy

Find out more

Image alt text goes here

Search for your next home – and read our sparkling content

Find out more

Image alt text goes here

Share your news, pictures and videos with us

Find out more