Politics

Saturday, April 21, 2018

During last year’s county council elections I was talking to a voter and, as you might imagine, I asked him whether he would be voting Green.

Read more
Saturday, April 21, 2018

Labour councillors have worked hard for the past four years to transform Cambridge for the better, since we were elected to run our great city in 2014.

Read more

The housing shortage, congestion and the standard of basic council services – these are the critical issues for Cambridge in this election.

Read more

Experience has taught us that the government which governs best, governs accountably.

Read more
Wednesday, April 18, 2018

They will be set up despite less than a third of residents responding to consultation.

Read more
Thursday, April 12, 2018

Labour, Liberal Democrats, Conservatives and The Greens will be fielding a full slate of candidates in this May’s Cambridge City Council elections.

Read more
Wednesday, April 11, 2018

Selling a story full of post-Brexit optimism

Read more
Tuesday, April 10, 2018

Theresa May thanked the hospital’s staff for their dedication over the past months.

Read more
Monday, April 9, 2018

The Prime Minister will today (Tuesday) visit a Cambridgeshire hospital to set out ambitious new plans to help thousands of men with prostate cancer get treated earlier and faster.

Read more
Thursday, March 29, 2018

Cambridgeshire’s mayor James Palmer is backing a call by London mayor Sadiq Khan to give metro mayors powers to deliver additional charging points for electric vehicles.

Read more
Sunday, March 25, 2018

One day he was studying to be a doctor, the next he was fleeing a war zone, Tirej Brimo tells Robinson College audience

Read more
Thursday, March 22, 2018

The development would be far larger than any of the city’s exisiting wards.

Read more
Saturday, March 10, 2018

The slow progress and hefty price tag that Network Rail is putting on a new Cambridge South railway station near Addenbrooke’s has prompted the region’s mayor, James Palmer, to label the organisation a “failure”.

Read more
Tuesday, February 20, 2018

Cleaner city streets and more environmental patrols in the city should be the focus for the upcoming year, according to Cambridge’s Liberal Democrat group.

Read more
Friday, February 16, 2018

With still no certainty about a final Brexit deal, Green Euro MP Keith Taylor visited Emmanuel College, Cambridge, to raise the party’s concerns about animal welfare once the country leaves the European Union.

Read more
Thursday, February 15, 2018

An additional £1.6million from the government for Cambridgeshire County Council has been welcomed by leader Cllr Steve Count, but it’s not enough.

Read more
Thursday, February 15, 2018

Increased costs for using library services has come under fire.

Read more
Wednesday, February 14, 2018

A councillor is hitting out against the decision to exclude road upgrades in the city from an upgrades scheme.

Read more
Sunday, February 11, 2018

James Palmer met with US mayors from all over the country in the capital

Read more
Thursday, February 8, 2018

Cambridgeshire County Council tax bills are going up 4.99 per cent from April

Read more
Wednesday, January 31, 2018

Households in South Cambridgeshire will pay an average £5 more council tax this coming financial year.

Read more
Friday, January 26, 2018

Brexit ‘will hit research, curb investment and delay new medicines’.

Read more
Wednesday, January 24, 2018

Council tax is due to increase this year as Cambridgeshire County Council’s ruling Conservative party has put forward its plans for a 4.99 per cent hike.

Read more
Wednesday, January 17, 2018

Contractor forced to lay off 10 people

Read more
Friday, January 12, 2018

Cambridge Regional College student’s design will be used for new cycling, walking and riding routes

Read more
Monday, January 8, 2018

A body is being set up to decide whether Cambridgeshire and Peterborough should have more money and powers from central government.

Read more
Monday, December 25, 2017

A £10million scheme to provide 54 new council homes on Anstey Way in Trumpington has taken a major step forward.

Read more
Sunday, December 24, 2017

Cambridgeshire and Peterborough mayor James Palmer has welcomed a report that backs his plan for a land value cap to help fund a future Cambridge metro system.

Read more
Thursday, December 21, 2017

A direct rail link between Cambridge and Oxford took a step closer as transport secretary Chris Grayling launched the East West Railway Company.

Read more
Wednesday, December 20, 2017

Daniel Zeichner says if the government were smart, it would find a way to reverse Brexit talks.

Read more
Thursday, December 14, 2017

The MP for South Cambridgeshire was one of 12 Tories who went against the government.

Read more
Sunday, December 3, 2017

The region’s mayor has his eyes on reforming the education system and bringing health under the remit of the Combined Authority.

Read more
Wednesday, November 29, 2017

The Tory MP introduced a Bill to the House of Commons yesterday that will try to close a legal loophole.

Read more
Friday, November 17, 2017

Lord Adonis’ new deal for Oxford-Cambridge corridor endorses urgent need for station on Cambridge Biomedical Campus

Read more
Friday, November 17, 2017

The Cambridgeshire and Peterborough mayor says the ‘truly exceptional’ deal will create ‘golden triangle’ for life sciences.

Read more
Friday, November 17, 2017

It’s part of National Infrastructure Commission plans to boost the area’s economic ontribution by over £160billion a year.

Read more
Saturday, October 14, 2017

Cambridgeshire County Council has joined forces with county councils across the UK who suffer greatly from what Cllr Count calls ‘a broken formula’.

Read more
Thursday, October 5, 2017

Leading councillors have said that a £2b pot of money to help build more social houses should be welcomed with open arms – but warned that the devil is in the detail before housing bosses know whether it will help in South Cambridgeshire.

Read more

Live Traffic Map

Most read stories

Image alt text goes here

Find the perfect role for you – or advertise a vacancy

Find out more

Image alt text goes here

Search for your next home – and read our sparkling content

Find out more

Image alt text goes here

Share your news, pictures and videos with us

Find out more