Politics

Tue, 06:32

Cleaner city streets and more environmental patrols in the city should be the focus for the upcoming year, according to Cambridge’s Liberal Democrat group.

Read more
Friday, February 16, 2018

With still no certainty about a final Brexit deal, Green Euro MP Keith Taylor visited Emmanuel College, Cambridge, to raise the party’s concerns about animal welfare once the country leaves the European Union.

Read more
Thursday, February 15, 2018

An additional £1.6million from the government for Cambridgeshire County Council has been welcomed by leader Cllr Steve Count, but it’s not enough.

Read more
Thursday, February 15, 2018

Increased costs for using library services has come under fire.

Read more
Wednesday, February 14, 2018

A councillor is hitting out against the decision to exclude road upgrades in the city from an upgrades scheme.

Read more
Sunday, February 11, 2018

James Palmer met with US mayors from all over the country in the capital

Read more
Thursday, February 8, 2018

Cambridgeshire County Council tax bills are going up 4.99 per cent from April

Read more
Wednesday, January 31, 2018

Households in South Cambridgeshire will pay an average £5 more council tax this coming financial year.

Read more
Friday, January 26, 2018

Brexit ‘will hit research, curb investment and delay new medicines’.

Read more
Wednesday, January 24, 2018

Council tax is due to increase this year as Cambridgeshire County Council’s ruling Conservative party has put forward its plans for a 4.99 per cent hike.

Read more
Wednesday, January 17, 2018

Contractor forced to lay off 10 people

Read more
Friday, January 12, 2018

Cambridge Regional College student’s design will be used for new cycling, walking and riding routes

Read more
Monday, January 8, 2018

A body is being set up to decide whether Cambridgeshire and Peterborough should have more money and powers from central government.

Read more
Monday, December 25, 2017

A £10million scheme to provide 54 new council homes on Anstey Way in Trumpington has taken a major step forward.

Read more
Sunday, December 24, 2017

Cambridgeshire and Peterborough mayor James Palmer has welcomed a report that backs his plan for a land value cap to help fund a future Cambridge metro system.

Read more
Thursday, December 21, 2017

A direct rail link between Cambridge and Oxford took a step closer as transport secretary Chris Grayling launched the East West Railway Company.

Read more
Wednesday, December 20, 2017

Daniel Zeichner says if the government were smart, it would find a way to reverse Brexit talks.

Read more
Thursday, December 14, 2017

The MP for South Cambridgeshire was one of 12 Tories who went against the government.

Read more
Sunday, December 3, 2017

The region’s mayor has his eyes on reforming the education system and bringing health under the remit of the Combined Authority.

Read more
Wednesday, November 29, 2017

The Tory MP introduced a Bill to the House of Commons yesterday that will try to close a legal loophole.

Read more
Friday, November 17, 2017

Lord Adonis’ new deal for Oxford-Cambridge corridor endorses urgent need for station on Cambridge Biomedical Campus

Read more
Friday, November 17, 2017

The Cambridgeshire and Peterborough mayor says the ‘truly exceptional’ deal will create ‘golden triangle’ for life sciences.

Read more
Friday, November 17, 2017

It’s part of National Infrastructure Commission plans to boost the area’s economic ontribution by over £160billion a year.

Read more
Saturday, October 14, 2017

Cambridgeshire County Council has joined forces with county councils across the UK who suffer greatly from what Cllr Count calls ‘a broken formula’.

Read more
Thursday, October 5, 2017

Leading councillors have said that a £2b pot of money to help build more social houses should be welcomed with open arms – but warned that the devil is in the detail before housing bosses know whether it will help in South Cambridgeshire.

Read more
Sunday, October 1, 2017

The homes would be built near Cambridge North station

Read more
Tuesday, September 19, 2017

The city council has formally responded to the county’s proposed closure of four children’s centres in the city.

Read more
Wednesday, September 6, 2017

The county council is joining with others across the country to ask Government for a rethink.

Read more
Wednesday, August 9, 2017

More urgency to improve a key transport bottleneck between Cambridge and Ely is being called for by politicians.

Read more
Sunday, July 30, 2017

Two council houses being built on Uphall Road will be the first in more than 20 years to be provided using Cambridge City Council’s own workforce.

Read more
Friday, June 30, 2017

Zeichner defied party orders to abstain and backed a motion for the UK to remain in the EU single market, along with 50 other Labour MPs.

Read more
Friday, June 9, 2017

Labour candidate expands majority after beating Lib Dem Julian Huppert in 2017 General Election

Read more

Voters across Cambridgeshire have been heading to the polls to choose their MPs and decide who forms the next government.

Read more
Wednesday, June 7, 2017

Academics are leaving the UK’s top educational institutions because of Brexit, it has been suggested.

Read more
Sunday, June 4, 2017

We asked candidates 12 contentious questions to help you make your choice on June 8.

Read more
Sunday, June 4, 2017

We asked candidates 12 contentious questions to help you make your choice on June 8.

Read more
Saturday, June 3, 2017

We asked candidates 12 contentious questions to help you make your choice on June 8.

Read more
Friday, June 2, 2017

Dr Hayward said he will urge police to start reviewing CCTV footage of bike thefts in the city.

Read more
Thursday, June 1, 2017

PM Theresa May was absent from the debate while Jeremy Corbyn made an 11th hour appearance.

Read more

Live Traffic Map

Most read stories

Image alt text goes here

Find the perfect role for you – or advertise a vacancy

Find out more

Image alt text goes here

Search for your next home – and read our sparkling content

Find out more

Image alt text goes here

Share your news, pictures and videos with us

Find out more