Home   News   Article

Subscribe Now

Bin collection changes during Easter and early May Bank Holiday




Bin collections in Cambridge City and South Cambridgeshire will be later than usual during the Easter period and after the early May Bank Holiday.

Cambridge and South Cambridgeshire bin collections change. (32858280)
Cambridge and South Cambridgeshire bin collections change. (32858280)

The Greater Cambridge Shared Waste Service, a partnership between Cambridge City and South Cambridgeshire District Councils, is currently only collecting black and blue bins.

Collections of green bins are suspended until May 4 due to the impact of the coronavirus on bin crews, with around a third of bin collection staff off work with symptoms or are self-isolating.

All collections scheduled from Friday, April 10 to Friday,April 24 and from Friday, May 8 to Friday, May 15 will take place on a later date than usual, and residents can check their collection days online.

Good Friday, April 10 to Tuesday, April 14

Easter Monday, April 13 to Wednesday, April 15

Tuesday, April 14 to Thursday, April 16

Wednesday,April 15 to Friday, April 17

Thursday, April 16 to Saturday, April 18

Friday, April 17 to Monday, April 20

Monday,April 20 to Tuesday, April 21

Tuesday, April 21 to Wednesday, April 22

Wednesday, April 22 to Thursday, April 23

Thursday, April 23 to Friday, April 24

Friday, April 24 to Saturday, April 25

Monday, April 27 to Thursday, May 7 - normal collections

Friday, May 8 to Monday, May 11

Monday, May 11 to Tuesday, May 12

Tuesday, May 12 to Wednesday, May 13

Wednesday, May 13 to Thursday, May 14

Thursday, May 14 to Friday, May 15

Friday, May 15 to Saturday, May 16

Monday, May 18 to collections return to normal days

The outbreak is also impacting other waste services, with collections of bulky waste suspended and Household Recycling Centres closed, including those at Milton and Thriplow. Recycling banks for clothing and other items at recycling points are also not being emptied so residents are being urged not to use them for now.

Cllr Rosy Moore, the city council's executive councillor for climate change, environment and city centre, said: “Our waste crews are doing their very best to maintain regular black and blue bin collections throughout this coronavirus crisis. Like all other organisations and businesses, we have workers off sick or self-isolating due to their own or family members’ health conditions.

“They have also had to change how they work in order to comply with social distancing requirements and access to places for breaks has been reduced. But through it all they are carrying on with the hard job of keeping us healthier by collecting our rubbish and recycling. “We are asking residents to help our crews by reducing the amount of waste that each household produces and by always using the correct bin.

“If you are using this time at home to have a clear-out or do some DIY please don't put the extra waste in your wheelie bin, but instead store the clean waste separately so that it can be reused, recycled or disposed of once regular services are back up and running.

“I understand that this will be easier for some to do than others but at this difficult time we can all make a difference and support our key workers to keep vital services going. Many thanks.”

Many residents have been supporting and thanking their bin crews, who clearly cannot work from home, by leaving notes or children’s drawings on their bins or in windows. These are all being collated and passed on to the crews.

Cllr Bill Handley, the district council's lead cabinet member for environmental services and licensing, added: “We’d like to thank our residents for their understanding, and for all the messages of support that our hard-working bin crews are seeing. They are doing such an important job under difficult circumstances and deserve recognition.

“I know they appreciate these gestures, and they continue to be under pressure, so please keep up your support. I’d also like to say that our blue bin recycling collections are operating as normal, so please do remember to recycle any Easter egg packaging such as foil, card or plastic.”

Read more:

Green bin collections suspended for Cambridge and South Cambridgeshire

Marshall Aerospace and Defence Group at forefront of British taskforce to create new ventilators to fight coronavirus pandemic



This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More