Home   News   Article

Cambridge bin days, recycling info and pharmacy opening times during Christmas


By Ben Comber


We've put together a list of handy information for the festive period.

To help you navigate the festive period, we’ve put together this handy little package of useful information.

Bin days

Regular collection days will change due to the bank holidays. Here’s the date of usual collection and the revised collection day beside it:

Monday, December 25 - Wednesday, December 27

Tuesday, December 26 - Thursday, December 28

Wednesday, December 27 - Friday, December 29

Thursday, December 28 - Saturday, December 30

Friday, December 29 - Tuesday, January 2

Monday, January 1 - Wednesday, January 3

Tuesday, January 2 - Thursday, January 4

Wednesday, January 3 - Friday, January 5

Thursday, January 4 - Saturday, January 6

Friday, January 5 - Monday, January 8

Monday, January 8 - Tuesday, January 9

Tuesday, January 9 - Wednesday, January 10

Wednesday, January 10 - Thursday, January 11

Thursday, January 11 - Friday, January 12

Friday, January 12 - Saturday, January 13

Recycling

Here’s a guide to where to put tress, boxes and wrapping paper.

■ Wrapping paper and Christmas cards go in blue bins. Recyclable and non-recyclable items can be also taken to household recycling centres.

■ Old Christmas lights and many decorations can be recycled.

■ Turkey carcasses and other food waste go in green bins.

■ Real Christmas trees can be cut up and put in your green, taken to Cherry Hinton Hall car park until January 20, or to the recycling centres.

Arthur Rank Hospice is again collecting trees from homes in CB1, CB2, CB3, CB4, CB5, CB22 or CB24. Trees will be collected for a donation on January 5-6.

NHS

GP surgeries will close on Friday, December 22, and will not re-open until Wednesday, December 27. Surgeries will also be closed on January 1.

Urgent appointments will be available by calling your GP practice or NHS 111.

Pharmacies

Christmas Day

Cambridge Numark Pharmacy, 2 Adkins Corner, Perne Road, Cambridge. 10am-2pm

Boxing Day

Asda, Beehive Centre, Coldhams Lane, Cambridge. 9am-6pm

Boots, 5-6 Grafton Centre. 11am-5pm

Boots, 28 Petty Cury & 65-67 Sidney Street. 9am-6pm

Boots, Cambridge Retail Park, Newmarket Road. 9am-6pm

Sainsbury’s Pharmacy, Brooks Road, Cambridge. 9am-6pm



COMMENTS
()


Iliffe Media does not moderate comments. Please click here for our house rules.

People who post abusive comments about other users or those featured in articles will be banned.

Thank you. Your comment has been received and will appear on the site shortly.

 

Terms of Comments

We do not actively moderate, monitor or edit contributions to the reader comments but we may intervene and take such action as we think necessary, please click here for our house rules.

If you have any concerns over the contents on our site, please either register those concerns using the report abuse button, contact us here.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More