Home   News   Article

Subscribe Now

Full results as Labour retains control of Cambridge City Council

Labour party members celebrate at the local election count at The Guildhall, Cambridge. Picture: Keith Heppell
Labour party members celebrate at the local election count at The Guildhall, Cambridge. Picture: Keith Heppell

Lib Dems win extra seat, while Greens, Conservatives, UKIP, and the Libertarians fail to gain any seats

Counting in progress at The Guildhall, Cambridge. Picture: Keith Heppell
Counting in progress at The Guildhall, Cambridge. Picture: Keith Heppell

Labour has kept control of the Cambridge City Council after a tough battle with the Lib Dems in a number of key city battleground wards.

Despite losing their seat in the central Market ward, Labour celebrated a victory in Cambridge this morning. The Lib Dems celebrated winning an extra seat on the council while the Greens, Conservatives, UKIP, and the Libertarians failed to gain any seats.

The Labour group now has 26 councillors (the same as they had before the election) after losing a seat in Market ward, but gaining another in Trumpington. They have a majority of 10 councillors.

The Lib Dems have 14 seats, one more than they had before. Cllr John Hipkin is now the only Independent councillor on the city council, and Oscar Gillespie is still the only Green councillor. The Conservatives and UKIP failed to take any seats on the council.

The turnout for the election was 37.8 per cent.

Lib Dem leader Cllr Tim Bick said losing Trumpington to Labour was “disappointing” but said he was pleased the Lib Dems ended the night with more seats.

“This is the first time we’ve been able to say that for several years now,” said Cllr Bick. “And I think what it does entitle us to say is that this is not just a Labour city. It is a Labour and Liberal Democrat city, and the results today show we are able to stop the Labour juggernaut.

“We have also brought four brand new energetic councillors to public life in the city. I think this will bring a bit more vigour, and a bit more youthful enthusiasm to public life than we have seen typically in the past.”

Labour leader Cllr Lewis Herbert said he was “shocked” that Labour had won Trumpington.

Cllr Herbert said: “We were really shocked and surprised, but in a great way. The last time we won that ward was in 1945. We have ended up with the same number of councillors that we had when we started the night and we have significantly increased our share of the vote since last year.

“People want a city council that is looking after services, but is also looking after people who need help, so they welcome the fact we are investing in housing, and they welcome that we redistribute, and help those that need help the most.”

Here are the results.


Naomi Bennett, Green 240

Nicky Massey, Labour 1,283

Nicky Shepard, Lib Dem 466

David Smith, Con 263


Dylan Coll-Reed, Con 351

Stephen Lawrence, Green 219

Patrick Sheil, Labour 1,250

Tim Ward, Lib Dem 595


Othman Cole, Con 245

Cheney Payne, Lib Dem 957

Aidan Powlesland, Libertarian 26

Mark Reader, Labour 932

Lucas Ruzowitzky, Green 184


Eric Barrett-Payton, Con 441

Russ McPherson, Labour 1,282

John Oakes, Lib Dem 364

Jenny Richens, Green 171


Donald Douglas, Con 388

Lewis Herbert, Labour 1,303

Sarah Nicmanis, Green 228

Lindsey Tate, Lib Dem 410


Gareth Bailey, Green 345

Peter Burkinshaw, UKIP 93

Timur Coskun, Con 299

Owen Dunn, Lib Dem 830

Tom Harwood, Con 336

Carla McQueen, Labour 1,362

Shahida Rahman, Lib Dem 811

Baiju Varkey, Labour 1,107


Angela Ditchfield, Green 165

Daniele Gibney, Lib Dem 397

Anette Karimi, Con 302

Martin Smart, Labour 924


Jeremy Caddick, Green 229

Anthony Martinelli, Lib Dem 866

Henry Mitson, Con 153

Dan Ratcliffe, Labour 744


Rod Cantrill, Lib Dem 1,139

Mike Davey, Labour 825

Connor MacDonald, Con 165

Mark Slade, Green 164


Sarah Brown, Lib Dem 432

Virgil Ierubino, Green 278

Simon Lee, Con 189

Ann Sinnott, Labour 1,256


Joel Chalfen, Green 218

Manas Deb, Con 543

Dan Greef, Labour 827

Colin McGerty, Lib Dem 1,259


Dave Baigent, Labour 1,461

Joshua Blanchard Lewis, Lib Dem 563

Martin Keegan, Con 170

Caitlin Patterson, Green 269


Ceri Galloway, Green 293

Dan Hilken, Lib Dem 1,298

Phil Salway, Con 561

Katie Thornburrow, Labour 1,302


Jamie Dalzell, Lib Dem 1,349

Mike Harford, Con 275

Clare King, Labour 1,228

Shayne Mitchell, Green 203

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More