Home   News   Article

Subscribe Now

The 2019 European election candidates for the East of England

European elections take place on May 23 (10609702)
European elections take place on May 23 (10609702)

Voters will go to the polls on Thursday May 23 to elect candidates to represent the East of England in the European Parliament.

The country is taking part in the elections after the UK and European Union agreed an extension to the Brexit process until October 31.

The East of England - Cambridgeshire, Hertfordshire, Essex, Bedfordshire, Suffolk and Norfolk - is one of 12 European electorial regions across the UK.

There are 73 Euro MPs (MEPs) representing the UK at the European Parliament, seven of which represent the East of England.

At the 2014 elections, three Conservative MEPs were elected, along with three from UKIP and one from Labour.

How the voting works

Voters have one vote in the elections.

A regional list is put forward by parties competing in the elections - and independents can also stand.

You have one vote. You can vote for either one of the party's regional lists or an individual standing as an independent.

The share of the vote received determined the number of MEPs elected from each party, based on a system devised by Belgian lawyer and mathematician Victor D'Hondt in the 19th century.

The party with the most votes in the first round of counting wins a seat for the candidate at the top of its list.

In the second round of counting, the winning party's vote is divided by two - one plus one, for the number of Euro MP sit has.

The party now top in the reordered results wins a seat for their leading candidate.

The process continues, with the original vote of the winning party in each round being divided by one plus their running total of MEPs, until all the seats for the region have been taken.

Votes will be verified on the night of the election, but counted on Sunday May 26, because other European countries go to the polls at the weekend.

Who is standing in the East?

All the major parties, plus the Brexit Party, Change UK and an independent candidate are standing. Here they are:

Brexit Party

Richard Tice

Michael Heaver

June Mummery

Paul Hearn

Priscilla Huby

Sean Lever

Edmund Fordham

Change UK

Emma Taylor

Neil Carmichael

Bhavna Joshi

Michelle de Vries

Amanda Gummer

Thomas Graham

Roger Casale

Conservative Party

Geoffrey Van Orden

John Flack

Joe Rich

Thomas McLaren

Joel Charles

Wassim Mughal

Thomas Smith

English Democrats

Robin Tilbrook

Charles Vickers

Bridget Vickers

Paul Wiffen


Catherine Rowett

Rupert Read

Martin Schmierer

Fiona Radic

Paul Jeater

Pallavi Devulapalli

Jeremy Lloyd Caddick


Attila Csordas


Alex Mayer

Chris Vince,

Sharon Taylor

Alvin Shum

Anna Smith

Adam Scott

Javeria Hussain

Liberal Democrats

Barbara Gibson,

Lucy Nethsingha

Fionna Tod

Stephen Robinson

Sandy Walkington

Marie Goldman

Julia Ewart


Stuart Agnew

Paul Oakley

Liz Jones

William Ashpole

Alan Graves Jr

John Wallace

John Whitby

Read more

EU citizens in Cambridge unable to vote despite being registered

Meet the Cambridge scientist standing as an independent candidate in the European elections

Change UK's East of England candidate to make a stand for staying in Europe

Caroline Lucas MP launches Green Party European election campaign in Cambridge

Change UK host rally in Cambridge ahead of European elections

Shadow Brexit secretary Keir Starmer visits Cambridge ahead of European elections

Jo Swinson says Lib Dems 'an option to remain’ ahead of European elections

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More