Home   Sport   Article

Subscribe Now

Bourn make it three in a row in Jock Stewart Memorial Trophy

More news, no ads


Jock Stewart Memorial Trophy winners Bourn GC.
Jock Stewart Memorial Trophy winners Bourn GC.

Victory earned over Gog Magog

The teams in the Jock Stewart Memorial Trophy, won by Bourn.
The teams in the Jock Stewart Memorial Trophy, won by Bourn.

Bourn completed a hat-trick of wins in the Jock Stewart Memorial Trophy by seeing off Gog Magog in the final.

They retained the inter-club title once again thanks to a 3-0 success at The Links in Newmarket.

The experienced pairing of Mark Lydon and Iain Clark registered a big win in the first match over a previously unbeaten father-and-son pairing.

All three matches were in favour of Bourn at lunch, leaving their captain in confident mood. But he was slightly less upbeat on the back nine of the final round when the second match was only one up and the last match was all square.

Bourn eventually came out on top in the second match, which was a close-run affair.

The Gogs pairing of Steve Hurst and Jono Butler had a chance to reduce the deficit to one hole with only two to play, but spurned it on the 16th as they halved with a bogey.

They then lost the 17th by taking a five as the Bourn pairing of Anthony Roitman and David Copeland won it 3&1.

In the third contest, stalwart Colin Brown and Tim Thomson became the only Gogs partnership to take the lead all day as they went one up, but youth won out over experience as Matthew Wood and Spencer Webster took it 3&2.

The final was played in a good spirit and both sides were a credit to their respective clubs.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More