Home   Sport   Article

Cambridge University rowing crews bid for Quintin Head success

Cambridge University will be represented by a flotilla of boats at the Quintin Head on Sunday (January 27).

Cambridge University Women’s Boat Club had the fastest women’s elite eight in the event last year, and they will be hoping for similar success this year.

But they will have to fight off strong competition from the University of London, University of Bristol, Molesey and Thames RC in an event that marks the start of a busy few months in the build-up to this year’s Boat Race, which is on April 7.

The Light Blues also have two crews entered in the women's senior eight category.

Cambridge University Lightweight Rowing Club will be racing in the open development event, and for the first time this season will be up against their Oxford counterparts.

There will be four eights in total representing the two clubs over a section of the Boat Race course, which starts at the University Post – the Boat Race finish – and finishes at Harrods Depository.

CUWBC women’s championship eight: Ida Jacobsen (Newnham), Lily Lindsay (Pembroke), Kate Horvat (Jesus), Pippa Whittaker (Christ’s), Laura Foster (Queen’s), Larkin Sayre (Emmanuel), Tricia Smith (Christ’s), Sophie Deans (Murray Edwards), cox Hugh Spaughton (Jesus).

CUWBC women’s senior eight: Emma Andrews (Pembroke), Anouschka Fenley (Lucy Cavendish), Abba Parker (Emmanuel), Adriana Perez-Rotondo (Newnham), Rebecca Dell (Christ’s), Sally O’Brien (Peterhouse), Fanny Belais (King’s), Charlotte Jackson (Jesus), cox Catriona Bourne-Swinton (Magdalene).

CUWBC women’s senior eight: Catherine King (Caius), Florence Alexander (Sidney Sussex), Louise Brett (Fitzwilliam), Gemma King (St John’s), Chiara Avancini (Newnham), Jess Godden (Emmanuel), Laura Stewart (Pembroke), Victoria Walker (Caius), cox Dylan Whitaker (King’s).

CULRC open development men’s eight: Tom Roe (Emmanuel), Jonathan Sachin Vibhishanan (Pembroke), Samuel Armstrong (Robinson), Daumantas Kavolis (Peterhouse), Michael Diggin (St Catharine’s), Jonathon Markanday (Queen’s), Teague Smith (Girton), Peter Taylor (Downing), cox Jack Mason (Pembroke).

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More