Home   Sport   Article

City of Cambridge Swimming Club have county golden glory

By CambridgeIndependent Reporter

City of Cambridge County Championship squad
City of Cambridge County Championship squad

A bounty of gold, silver and bronze medals

Macy Dexter maintained a rich vein of form at the Cambridgeshire County Swimming Championships by winning three gold medals.

Having already enjoyed success at the previous two meets, City of Cambridge Swimming Club member Dexter earned victory in the 12 years 50m backstroke, 100m breaststroke and 200m breaststroke.

And there was plenty of medals for City of Cambridge, with lots of personal bests and regional qualifying times.

Christopher Williamson won gold medals in the 13 years 100m butterfly and 200m IM, with Max Parry doing the double in the 12 years category, in the 100m fly and 200m backstroke.

Two golds were also picked up by Katie Hammond (15 years 50m fly and 200m IM), Matilda Ransome (12 years 50m fly and 200m IM) and Oskar Farkas (13 years 100m freestyle and 200m backstroke).

Matthew Courtis (16+ years 100m fly), Robyn Le Friec (16+ years 50m fly), Jonathan Weimann (12 years 100m free), Henry Chong (16 years 100m free), Henry Duncan (14 years 200m backstroke) earned one gold apiece.

There was also a big collection of silver medal winners from City of Cambridge.

Ransome was second in the 12 years 100m and 200m breaststroke, and Kathryn Loveys sealed a double in the 16+ years 100m and 200m breaststroke.

Farkas struck silver twice, in the 13 years 100m fly and 200m individual medley, and his feats were replicated in the 12 years 50m fly and 200m IM by Dexter; by Williamson in the 13 years 100m free and 200m backstroke and by Louis Byne, in the 15 years 200m IM and backstroke.

Silver medals were won by Ciara Walshe (under-11 100m breastroke), Liam Barnett (16+ 100m fly), Polly Fish (14 years 50m fly), James Williamson (under-11 200m IM), Courtis (200m IM), Parry (100m free), Joe Randall (15 years 100m free), Gracie Kay (15 years 50m back), and Katie Hammond (15 years 200m breaststroke).

Matthew Monie won three bronze medals, in the 13 years 100m fly and 200m IM and backstroke, while Fish, Daisy Moxham, Lucy Chai, Sydney Smith, Randall and James Williamson all won twice apiece.

And there were places on the final step of the rostrum for Hammond, Matthew Titman, Orla Kenny, Alex Lezard, Max Withers, Byrne, Marcin Chrapek and Zara Keegan.


Iliffe Media does not moderate comments. Please click here for our house rules.

People who post abusive comments about other users or those featured in articles will be banned.

Thank you. Your comment has been received and will appear on the site shortly.


Terms of Comments

We do not actively moderate, monitor or edit contributions to the reader comments but we may intervene and take such action as we think necessary, please click here for our house rules.

If you have any concerns over the contents on our site, please either register those concerns using the report abuse button, contact us here.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More