Home   Sport   Article

Subscribe Now

Double delight for Cambridge University at British Rowing Senior Championships

More news, no ads


Victories in two A finals for Light Blues

Cambridge University crews savoured success at the British Rowing Senior Championships in Nottingham.

Cambridge University Women’s Boat Club took two openweight women’s coxless fours and an openweight double to the event.

CUWBC’s A crew of Ida Jacobsen, Pippa Whittaker, Patricia Smith and Lily Lindsay powered down the course for three wins – in the time-trial, the A/B semi-final and then in the A final to earn the gold medal.

They were eight seconds clear of runners-up Molesey in the final

Sally O’Brien, Pippa Dakin, Larkin Sayre and Emma Andrews were in the B coxless four, and were fourth in the time-trial which placed them in the tougher of the two A/B semi-finals.

They were edged out of the top three by Edinburgh University, but picked themselves up to win the B final by 24 seconds.

The double of Fanny Belais and Rebecca Dell were 20th in the time-trial, which took them to the C/D semi-final where they were fourth, and they were then second in the D final

Cambridge University Boat Club had four crews in action, and the B four emerged victorious in the A final.

Light Blues president Dara Alizadeh, Freddie Davidson, Natan Wegrzycki Szymczyk and Callum Sullivan were triumphant by six seconds from the Isis A crew of their Oxford University rivals. Goldie A, featuring Dave Bell, Jonty Page, Gregory Bitler and Reginald Mitchell were fourth in the final.

Goldie D of Tom Strudwick, Ben Dyer, Harry Sivills and Philip Horton won the B final.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More