Home   Sport   Article

GB Olympic stars send congratulations to The Perse School hockey teams

By CambridgeIndependent Reporter

Perse Senior School, U18 Boys Indoor Hockey Team . Picture: Keith Heppell
Perse Senior School, U18 Boys Indoor Hockey Team . Picture: Keith Heppell

Successful year is recognised

Perse Senior School, U18 Girls Indoor Hockey Team. Picture: Keith Heppell
Perse Senior School, U18 Girls Indoor Hockey Team. Picture: Keith Heppell

Olympic gold-medal winning hockey stars Kate and Helen Richardson-Walsh have sent youngsters at The Perse School a message on social media congratulating them on their success this year.

It has been a really good year for hockey players at the school, who run 21 teams, and that has been added to by the boys’ and girls’ under-18 indoor teams.

The under-18 girls’ team have booked their place in the national finals, after finishing runners-up to Framlingham College in the East Regional Indoor Hockey Tournament at Oaklands College.

Tess Howard top-scored with five goals as they beat Stamford High 3-1, Chigwell School 1-0, Norwich School 1-0, Haileybury 4-0 and St Lawrence School 5-2, and drew 1-1 with Framlingham.

Both schools go through to the national finals in January.

And the boys’ under-18 team qualified for the national finals after finishing second at the East Indoor Tournament at UEA.

Zaman Akhter top-scored with 12 goals as The Perse won 2-0 against Bancroft, 5-2 against Watford, 2-1 against Bedford, 2-0 against Stamford, and drew 2-2 with both Norwich and Ipswich, who won the tournament.

“What an incredible year, all those achievements but everyone taking part that’s what it’s all about, playing hockey with your mates, having fun,” said GB star Helen Richardson-Walsh in a video to the school on Twitter. “Winning helps which we know, but what an amazing year.

And Kate added: “You’re all fully signed up members to the hockey family which we’re very proud to be a part of so keep it going, keep enjoying playing your hockey and have a merry Christmas.”

Perse girls’ under-18 squad: Sofia Baldelli, Tess Howard, Ellie Harrison, Meg Rice, Sarah Howlett, Plum Thatcher, Emily Russell, Claudia Baldelli, Elizabeth Townsend, Anna Traherne and Freia Gould

Perse School boys’ under-18 squad: Ben Brown, Zaman Akhter, George Laing, Henry Hackett, Louis McManus, Will Tyrrell, Harry Schumann, Sam Doel, Fraser Allen, Tommy Albright.


Iliffe Media does not moderate comments. Please click here for our house rules.

People who post abusive comments about other users or those featured in articles will be banned.

Thank you. Your comment has been received and will appear on the site shortly.


Terms of Comments

We do not actively moderate, monitor or edit contributions to the reader comments but we may intervene and take such action as we think necessary, please click here for our house rules.

If you have any concerns over the contents on our site, please either register those concerns using the report abuse button, contact us here.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More