Home   Sport   Article

Subscribe Now

Histon are crowned Thurlow Nunn League, Premier Division champions

Danny Gould scored twice for Histon in their win over Wroxham
Danny Gould scored twice for Histon in their win over Wroxham

Histon have been crowned Thurlow Nunn League, Premier Division champions.

The Stutes headed to Wroxham on Tuesday night knowing that a win would ensure the title, with five games to spare.

They delivered the goods with a barnstorming start in Norfolk, racing into a 3-0 lead inside the first 16 minutes, thanks to two goals from Danny Gould and one from Ed Rolph.

Histon did not add to their tally but the 3-0 win sealed their first title in 12 years, since they lifted the Conference South crown to seal promotion to the Conference National in the 2006/07 season.

It also repeats the feat of 2000, when they were last Eastern Counties champions.

They have been sweeping all before them this season, winning 26 of their 33 matches and losing just twice.

One of those victories was last Saturday, when they moved to within striking range of wrapping up the title with a 4-2 home win over Great Yarmouth Town.

Captain Max York put them on their way with a header in the 10th minute, but Yarmouth equalised five minutes later. York restored Histon’s lead with his second before half time.

Rolph made it 3-1 with 15 minutes remaining, but Yarmouth got back in it through a penalty in the 82nd minute.

The game was put to bed by Dan Brown, who got the Stutes’ fourth in the 85th minute.

With second-placed Godmanchester Rovers drawing at Long Melford on Saturday, it put Histon’s hands on the title – with two just points needed – and they completed the job by winning at Wroxham.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More