Home   Sport   Article

Subscribe Now

Imogen Grant and Henry Fieldman heading to Tokyo Olympics as part of Team GB rowing squad

Imogen Grant has been selected to represent Team GB at the Tokyo Olympics. Picture: Naomi Baker
Imogen Grant has been selected to represent Team GB at the Tokyo Olympics. Picture: Naomi Baker

Imogen Grant and Henry Fieldman will be heading to the Tokyo Olympics with the Team GB rowing squad.

Former Hills Road Sixth Form College student Grant, a member of the Cambridge University Boat Club, has been selected in the women’s lightweight doubles sculls alongside Emily Craig, with the duo having already won silver at the European Championships earlier this year.

Old Blue Fieldman will cox the men’s eight, who have also had a strong start to the season after winning the European title and a gold medal at the second World Rowing Cup.

He will be steering the crew of Mohamed Sbihi, Josh Bugajski, Jacob Dawson, Tom George, Charlie Elwes, Oli Wynne-Griffith, James Rudkin and Tom Ford.

Grant and Fieldman are two of 37 Olympic debutants for Team GB, in a squad of 45 to compete on the Olympic course at the Sea Forest Waterway in Tokyo Bay.

British Rowing director of performance Brendan Purcell said: “When we qualified our 10 boats for the Olympic Games back in September 2019 we had no idea of the challenges that would lie ahead.

“We used the lockdown time away from competition to focus on ourselves and individual development. Since then, the group have thrived, topping the medal table at both the 2021 Europeans and the World Rowing Cup II.

“Obviously, this Olympic Games will be a totally different experience with it being the first time in over two years we’ll be competing against many crews from the rest of the world.

“We don't have a real form line on them but we believe in the work we are doing and the results of our own performances and it’s a great opportunity for the coaches and athletes to go out there and write a unique chapter in the legacy of the British Rowing team in this unique year.”

Full squad: Women’s single sculls - Victoria Thornley; Women’s pair - Helen Glover, Polly Swann; Lightweight women’s double sculls - Emily Craig, Imogen Grant; Men’s double sculls - Graeme Thomas, John Collins; Women’s four - Rowan McKellar, Harriet Taylor, Karen Bennett, Rebecca Shorten; Men’s four - Oliver Cook, Matthew Rossiter, Rory Gibbs, Sholto Carnegie; Women’s quadruple sculls - Mathilda Hodgkins-Byrne, Hannah Scott, Charlotte Hodgkins-Byrne, Lucy Glover; Men’s quadruple sculls - Harry Leask, Angus Groom, Thomas Barras, Jack Beaumont; Women’s eight - Fiona Gammond, Sara Parfett, Rebecca Edwards, Chloe Brew, Katherine Douglas, Caragh McMurtry, Rebecca Muzerie, Emily Ford, Matilda Horn (cox); Men’s eight - Joshua Bugajski, Jacob Dawson, Thomas George, Mohamed Sbihi, Charles Elwes, Oliver Wynne-Griffith, James Rudkin, Thomas Ford, Henry Fieldman (cox).

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More