Home   Sport   Article

Old Leysians seal Cambs & Hunts Premier League, Division Three crown

Old Leysians cricket team celebrate winning the Cambs & Hunts Premier League, Division Three title. Picture: John Welch (15990422)
Old Leysians cricket team celebrate winning the Cambs & Hunts Premier League, Division Three title. Picture: John Welch (15990422)

George Houghton’s second five-wicket haul in a row helped secure Old Leysians the Whiting & Partners Cambs & Hunts Premier League, Division Three title.

They went into the match at Newborough knowing that victory would give them the honours, having secured promotion in their previous match.

Andrew Gale (50), Dante O’Reilly (47) and Patrick Miller (40) helped Old Leysians to 212 before being dismissed. Vamshi Parvathaneni was the pick of the bowlers with five for 29.

And Newborough were not able to get going with the bat.

Only three players got into double figures as they were bowled out for 89.

Houghton returned his best figures of the season with five for 22, and it saw Old Leysians claim the title by 26 points from Foxton, who were also promoted.

Foxton had done all they could in case of an Old Leysians slip up.

They made 247 for 7 at Burwell & Exning II, before then bowling the hosts out for 61 to seal a 186-run win.

Josh Brown brought his British summer to an end in some style as Histon defeated March Town by 298 runs in Division One.

The Australian all-rounder has been some overseas signing for Histon, and was in imperious form again.

Batting at No 3, he annihilated the March attack. Brown hit 25 fours and 25 sixes for a club record 290, off just 149 balls.

With David Piggott (49) and Will Brown (46) willing partners, Histon made 453 for 4.

If that was not enough for March, they had no reply with the bat either.

They were bowled out for 155, with Ben Leach taking three for 41 and Chris Germon claimed three for 34.

Brown finished the season with 1,068 from 17 innings, at an average of 71.20 with a strike rate of 149.54 to top the Division One rankings.

The best batsman across all the leagues, however, was Sawston & Babraham’s Matt Hague.

The opener made 88, from 77 balls, in Sawston & Babraham’s 35-run win over Foxton. It took his total to 1,094 from 21 innings, at an average of 72.93.

Hague shared a 142-run first-wicket partnership with Waqas Hussain (62), who was second best batsman in Division One, ahead of Hague but behind Brown.

Sawston & Babraham were bowled out for 245, with Ravi Mahendra taking four for 60 and Craig Park claiming four for 35.

Foxton made a good start in reply, with Adam Webster hitting 45, but fell from 68 for 1 to 98 for 6 as Hague took four for 29.

Jason Coleman (47), Mahendra (36) and Donal Whyte (33) rallied the score, but Foxton were bowled out for 210.

In the CCA League, Sawston & Babraham II earned a nine-wicket win over a weakened Milton in Senior 3.

Tom Champness (three for 20) and Sean Jenkins (three for 9) helped skittle Milton out for 100, despite Liam Dye’s unbeaten 40.

Unbeaten knocks from Kane Munday (53) and Scott Stanford (30) saw Sawston & Babraham home inside 20 overs to leave them needing two points from their final match for the title.

Sawston & Babraham III’s hopes of promotion from Junior League 3S were brought to an end with a 38-run defeat to Great Shelford.

James Johnstone made 56 and Stuart Creed 27 as Shelford reached 193 for 9. Zak Ives took three for 19 and Oliver Borley got three for 23.

Tom Newman top-scored with 31 as Sawston & Babraham were dismissed for 155.

Matt Dobson snared three for 31.

Anthony Powell’s unbeaten 54 saw Abington III to a 28-run win over Sawston & Babraham IV in 4S.

They made 172 for 8, and Powell then took three for 17 as Sawston & Babraham were stopped on 144, with Dom Cameron top-scoring with 57.

Read more

More by this author

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More