Home   Sport   Article

Oriel and Jesus Colleges have a good time in Fairbairn Cup races

Oriel and Jesus Colleges produced the two fastest crews in the annual Fairbairn Cup races on the Cam.

The event, which started in 1929, features senior eights, novice eights – for those who have not rowed or coxed before October of this year – and coxed fours for Cambridge, Oxford and Durham colleges, while non-college clubs may also race in invitational divisions.

For the first time in a number of years, Cambridge University Women’s Boat Club and Cambridge University Lightweight Rowing Club entered crews in the race, with five boats featuring 41 athletes representing 18 colleges.

Racing for time only, the CUWBC first crew were the quickest in the women’s eights in 14min 47sec, and their second crew was second in 15.06.

Cantabrigian were third in 15.46, and were the fastest women’s invitational crew in 15.46, while the women’s senior VIIIs winners were Jesus College, who clocked 16.36 to finish fifth overall.

Emmanuel II were the women’s second senior VIII fastest boat in 17.54, for 20th overall.

In the men’s senior eights, Oxford University college Oriel were first in 14.11, with the university lightweight first crew, racing for time only, second in 14.12.

The senior invitational winner was the Mallory Club (Magdalene alumni) in 14.15, while Pembroke II were the quickest second crew in 15.30, finishing 22nd overall.

Caius were first in the men’s novice VIIIs in 6.32, beating Lady Margaret by a second. LMBC had the quickest second crew, clocking 6.59 for sixth place overall.

First And Third Trinity were winners of the women’s novice VIIIs in 7.47, with

Emmanuel II the quickest second boat in 6.32.

In the coxed four races, Magdalene were first in the men’s event in 11.07, and Newnham were the quickest college crew in 13.02.

They were third overall as the CUWBC were quickest in 12.16 and the select Cantabs boat were second in 13.02.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More