Home   Sport   Article

Subscribe Now

Sawston & Babraham sign off East Anglian Premier League title-winning season with another victory

Sawston CC v Copdock and Old Ipswichian Cricket Club. Picture: Chris Worrall. (51153259)
Sawston CC v Copdock and Old Ipswichian Cricket Club. Picture: Chris Worrall. (51153259)

Sawston & Babraham completed their Read Brothers East Anglian Premier League title-winning season in style with a 27-run win over Copdock & Old Ipswichian.

The Rams won the toss and elected to bat, but they were soon in trouble on 9 for 2.

Aaron Thomason (26) steadied the ship in a 60-run partnership with Waqas Hussain, who went on to build another strong stand at the crease.

Hussain put on 33 with Callum Guest, before being dismissed for 46 off 48 balls. Guest was then joined by younger brother Ethan (20), who was out with the score on 145 for 4.

Alex Stafford (52 off 50 balls) put on 85 with Callum Guest, who had sat in to anchor the innings, ending on 96 not out, off 122 balls, as Sawston & Babraham finished on 296 for 9.

Jack Beaumont took three for 58 for Copdock & Old Ipswichian.

The Rams made some important breakthroughs, taking Beaumont (26 off 28) and Alex Oxley (44 off 56) to leave the visitors on 110 for 4 from 27 overs. Donald Mlambo made 102, off 127, but kept losing partners as the required run rate grew, and Copdock eventually finished on 269 for 8.

There were two wickets apiece for James Vandepeer and Thomason, while Stafford enjoyed a good day, going for one for 29 off his 10 overs.

Sawston & Babraham were presented with the EAPL trophy after the match, having finished 55 points clear of second-placed Swardeston.

Zaman Akhter produced a mesmerising bowling display as Cambridge finished an unbroken 22-year spell in the East Anglian Premier League with a 13-run win at Frinton-on-Sea.

It was announced last month that Cambridge would be demoted for failing to meet the criteria regarding youth cricket at the club, so the trip to Essex was their last at this level for the foreseeable future.

Cambridge were put into bat, and their top order put in a strong foundation.

After a 40-run stand for the opening wicket, Daminda Ranaweera (48) and Johnny Atkinson put on 88 for the second wicket. Atkinson then made a stand of 62 for the fourth wicket with Evan Hill (37).

There was little support below that as Atkinson was left high and dry on 97 not out as Cambridge were all out for 221.

What was to come from Akhter with the ball was a fitting finale for Cambridge.

He took eight for 45 from 8.5 overs, and that included a hat-trick to clean up the Frinton-on-Sea innings, as they were all out for 208.

Burwell & Exning’s miserable season ended with a four-wicket defeat to Great Witchingham.

They chose to bat first having won the toss, but after a promising start, it all fell apart.

Joe Tetley (16) and Luke Du-Plooy (23) saw them make 46 for the first wicket, but they were then all out for 109. The next best score came from Manish Burman, with 14.

James Hale was the pick of the bowlers with four for 26, while there were three apiece for Andy Hanby and Brett Stolworthy.

Peter Trewick (38) and Sam Arthurton (33) led Great Witchingham home on 110 for 6, despite James Hickman taking three for 33.

Despite finishing bottom with just three wins, Burwell & Exning retain their place in the EAPL because of Cambridge’s demotion.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More