Home   Sport   Article

Subscribe Now

Sporting endeavours recognised at the Living Sport Sports Awards

More news, no ads


John Wroe, centre, receives his award at the Living Sport Sports Awards. Picture: Alison Rice (23141731)
John Wroe, centre, receives his award at the Living Sport Sports Awards. Picture: Alison Rice (23141731)

John Wroe’s work with Street Child United has been recognised with the Matthew Warne Power of Sport award at the annual Living Sport Sports Awards.

It was a big year for the charity as they hosted the inaugural Street Child Cricket World Cup tournament, staged on Parker’s Piece in Cambridge and at Lord’s and Wroe’s efforts as co-founder and chief executive officer were heralded.

There were 14 categories at the awards, in their 14th year, which were hosted at Burgess Hall in St Ives.

Cambridge United Women’s Football Club’s Lily Callaghan was the young community volunteer of the year, with the School Games ambassador’s dedication in school and the community earning the accolade.

Lucy Warne earned the sports performance of the year prize after representing the Special Olympics Great Britain equestrian team at the World Summer Games, winning two gold medals and a silver on a horse she had only met one hour previously.

Ditton Lodge Primary School won the school of the year trophy, having given students a wide range of PE and extra-curricular opportunities.

Wellcome Sanger Institute was the winner of the workplace of the year for promoting a culture of positive health and wellbeing to embrace physical and mental health for healthier lives.

There was a three-way tie in the Impact Award, between Danielle Guy, Jenny Parker and the Friends of Histon & Impington Recreation.

Guy runs Let’s Run Girls to empower women to take part in running; Parker is a Breeze champion for British Cycling to form Sassy Ladies, to provide a pathway in sport for women; and Friends of Histon & Impington Rec formed 16 years ago to bring the community together in its many sporting, community and fundraising activities.

Full list of winners: ARU coach of the year – Andy Matson; Lifeplus community club of the year – Three Counties Running Club and Wisbech Inline Speed Skating Club; Enjoy the View community volunteer of the year – Jonathan Evans; Irwin Mitchell Jonnie Peacock Award – Gabriella Wells; 3B Design & Print Impact Award – Danielle Guy, Friends of Histon & Impington Recreation, Jenny Parker; Matthew Warne Power of Sport – John Wroe; Baldwins School of the Year – Ditton Lodge Primary School; Services to Sport – Colin Bedford; Freedom Leisure Sports Performance of the Year – Lucy Warne; Everyone Health Workplace of the Year – Wellcome Sanger Institute; Nene Park Trust Young Community Volunteer of the Year – Lily Callaghan; Chromasport Youth Sports Performance of the Year – Samuel Missin.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More