Home   Sport   Article

Subscribe Now

Varsity Match 2022: Former England and Newcastle Falcons fly-half Toby Flood to line-up for Cambridge University to face Oxford

More news, no ads


Toby Flood will line-up for Cambridge University against Oxford in the Varsity Match. Picture: Keith Heppell (54948729)
Toby Flood will line-up for Cambridge University against Oxford in the Varsity Match. Picture: Keith Heppell (54948729)

Former England fly-half Toby Flood will line-up for Cambridge University in the 150th anniversary Varsity Match at Twickenham on Saturday, April 2.

The 36-year-old has been named in the No 10 jersey for the Light Blues in a squad that features 12 returning Blues for the game, which has Jefferies as the title sponsor.

Queens’ College student Flood, who earned 60 caps for England appearing in the Rugby World Cup final in 2007, is studying for an MBA.

Stephen Leonard will captain Cambridge for the third time from the back row, as the skipper for this academic year, Charlie Watson, is ruled out through injury.

Suwi Chibale, Dougal Russell, Max Loveridge, Charles Favell, Ben Jackson, Matt Pettit, Tom Walton and Archie Smeaton are the other returning Blues in the starting line-up.

Jason Kururangi is named among the replacements having earned Blues in 2010 and 2011 with Cambridge, and Luke Parry and Demi Obembe are other returners in the squad.

The match returns to Twickenham after being held under adapted laws at Leicester’s Welford Road in the summer of 2021 because of the Covid pandemic. Oxford won 34-7.

Oxford skipper Louis Jackson has been able to draw on international experience in his selection.

Along with last year’s man of the match, USA Eagles star Andrew Durutalo, he has two more Eagles caps and a Hong Kong hooker.

Tight-head prop Eric Fry has 48 American caps to his name, lock Nick Civetta 31 and Durutalo a further 22. Hooker Alex Post has played seven times for Hong Kong.

The men’s match kicks off at 3.30pm.

For ticket details, visit thevarsitymatches.com

Cambridge University: Jamie Benson (Downing); Dougal Russell * (St John’s), Suwi Chibale * (Queens’), Max Loveridge * (Jesus), Tim Andrew (Jesus); Toby Flood # (Queens’), Charles Favell * (Homerton); Ben Jackson *(Sidney Sussex) *, James Wright (Jesus), Matt Pettit * (Clare), Charles Friend (St John’s), Zac Bischoff (St John’s), Stephen Leonard * (Emmanuel, Captain), Tom Walton * (St John's), Archie Smeaton * (Queens')

Replacements: Luke Parry * (Downing), Patrick Harris (Hughes Hall), Laurence Marwood (St Edmund's), Jason Kururangi * (St Edmund's), Demi Obembe * (Churchill), Dan Montesino Jones (St John’s), David Holdroyd (Jesus), Alex King (St Catharine's)

Oxford University: Sam Reynolds (University); Luke Wyllie (St Hilda’s), Liam Furniss (Kellogg), Louis Jackson * (Oriel, Captain), Henry Hackett * (Christ Church); David Wilkinson (St Edmund Hall), Callum Grant * (St Anne’s); Tom Osborne (Trinity); Alex Post # (St Cross), Eric Fry # (Keble), Piers Von Dadelszen * (St Edmund Hall), Nick Civetta # (Wolfson), Euan Friend * (St Cross), Mungo Mason (St Cross), Andrew Durutalo * # (Green Templeton)

Replacements: Louis Wright * (Trinity), Gus Coningham (St John’s), Barnaby Vaughan * (Corpus Christi), Ed Blake (St Hilda’s), Charlie Papworth * (Jesus), Tom Humberstone * (Jesus), Arthur Friend (St Anne’s), Oscar Marriott-Clarke * (Magdalen)

*denotes Blue

# denotes international

Read more

Women’s Varsity Match 2022: Laura Bleehen names dozen Blues in Cambridge University squad to face Oxford at Twickenham

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More