Home   What's On   Article

Subscribe Now

Join The Brodsky Quartet for an evening of music and adventure

More news, no ads


The Brodsky Quartet. Picture: Martina Simkovicova
The Brodsky Quartet. Picture: Martina Simkovicova

The Brodsky Quartet will be presenting their 'Wheel of 4Tunes' at Jesus College Chapel on Friday, July 13, at 7.30pm, as part of the Cambridge Summer Music Festival.

Comprising Daniel Rowland (violin), Ian Belton (violin), Paul Cassidy (viola) and Jacqueline Thomas (cello), the quartet celebrated their 40th anniversary six years ago with this adventurous concert format, which produces a different programme of four quartets each time.

Throughout the evening, the wheel is spun to select works from 24 of their favourites, meaning the audience will not know what they're going to hear until the wheel comes to a halt.

Choices will be picked from works such as Mozart's Adagio & Fugue, Beethoven's String Quartet in F minor, Op.95, Elgar's String Quartet in E minor, Op.83, and Mendelssohn's String Quartet No. 6, Op.80.

Paul Cassidy said:"The wheel goes back to our 40th anniversary in 2012.

"To mark that occasion, I felt it would be nice to do something unusual, so I came up with this rather crazy notion which my colleagues don't exactly thank me for!"

He continued:"It's challenging because given a few hours' notice, we could do 200 or 300 pieces.

"But if someone puts you on the spot and says you have to play a certain piece right now, then that's quite tricky."

Paul believes working in this way forces him and his fellow musicians to really up their game, adding:"You actually have to be a much better chamber music player because it forces you to really listen, whereas if you've just been rehearsing and rehearsing, then what can happen is the thing loses its energy.

"It can become rather square, if you're not careful. This concept opens up the possibility of people being more inventive and fresh.

Tickets: £27.50. For more visit, Cambridge Summer Music Festival.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More